Our Curriculum

This school caters for children from Nursery (3 years old) through to year 6 (11 year olds).

The children join the school in single form classes with no more than 30 in any one year group.

We run a one year program of curriculum study following the EYFS program in Nursery and Reception moving into the national curriculum from year 1. 

Below you will find out more about the statutory information regarding schooling here at St Nicholas but to really see what our classes are up to follow our news page, facebook site or login to FROG.


The school follows the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum. 

The EYFS is divided into seven areas:

  • Communication and Language (CL)
  • Physical Development (PD)
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Literacy (LY)
  • Mathematics (MA)
  • Understanding of the World (UTW)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

Click on the image below for more details of the EYFS curriculum:


You can find out more about what are children in the Early Years are currently learning or what they may be finding out more about next by visiting our other learning pages.

Phonics teaching is based on Letters and Sounds and a variety of reading schemes are used including Oxford Reading Tree.

National Curriculum:

In September 2014 with the advent of the new national curriculum, our school, alongside The Herts For Learning team, has been developing our long, medium and short term plans to match the new curriculum and are developing a new assessment package to support this learning.  

Our year plans are shared on the year group pages of the learning area of this site. We thought it may be useful for our parents to know more about the national curriculum as a whole and so you can find out more about it by clicking on the images below: 

At St Nicholas School we follow the National Curriculum for all subjects.

Further details can be found on the links below:

English Maths Science
Geography History Languages
P.E. Art and Design Music


All lessons have clear learning objectives and teaching is differentiated in order to meet individual needs.

Children have learning targets shared through information marking (children will know it as 'tickled pink' and assessment is on-going to adjust targets and individual plans as appropriate.

The curriculum is enhanced through topic teaching, following children's ideas and interests and encouraging independent learning. Educational visits and events in school also enhance the curriculum and create memorable experiences for the children. 


The changeover to the New Curriculum and to the new methods of testing can be difficult to understand. We hope that you have been able to make one of our many parents information sessions but here is some information just in case.

In 2014 years 1,3,4 and 5 will begin learning from the new curriculum and they will begin to be assessed under the new framework.  Years 2 and 6 will remain on the old national curriculum as this is a testing or SATs year.  From September 2015 all years groups will then be learning under the new curriculum and the first of the new statutory tests will be in Summer 2016. Schools will be preparing children for this testing from the September of 2014 when they begin teaching the new national curriculum. Our colleagues at Herts for Learning have produced an excellent powerpoint about the implementation and introduction of the new tests which include great links through to the relevant government sites.

You will find this by clicking on the image below:

Herts for learning